Toolmaking

Image

I found a piece of good steel and could move on with My toolmaking.

Instead of castings the punchingtool I modelled it out of the 14×14 mm piece of 1050 steel. This will be for the decorations covering the armor in between the outer splints. My first ideas was to get rivets or plates for the Ovals- but my search has been futile so I decided to do it by to tooling the leather as one can see in the sources – this was probably not done in the original, but I think it will look good. This will be the tryout to match the sources for how many ovals should be on each piece of armor. The original statue in Frankfurt are painted for these details so its hard to tell if this is the original numbers ovals or if it has been renovated in modern Times and altered by that.

for now it will stick to the statue and allt its detaljs in shape, form and painting

~ by georgefitzhume on March 25, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
